The Esteve Foundation awarded its fourth Research Price ex-aequo to the following studies: Effect of adenosine A1 and A2 agonists and antagonists on cAMP and Ca2+ in cultured rat mesangial cells (Am. J. Physiol. 262:C840-844,1992), by Drs. Ana Olivera, Manuela Tomás and José M. López-Novoa, and Long term treatment with desipramine increases the turnover of alpha2-adrenoceptors in the rat brain (Mol. Pharmacol. 42:846-855,1992), by Drs. Fernando Barturen and Jesús A. García Sevilla. The jury was composed of Profs. Gerhard Levy (United States), Manfred Göthert (Germany) and Sergio Erill (Spain).